I make Jesus look fat

Hebrews 1:3 The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word. After he had provided purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the Majesty in heaven.

I make Jesus look fat!

Like it or not, when you look at yourself in the mirror it shows you what you look like.  Now sometimes you might like what you see and other times not so much.  But what you see is what you get.  Now I am not talking about those crazy amusement park mirrors.  You know the ones that completely distort reality?  Some make you look super skinny, other make you look not so skinny.  Some stretch you out and make you look tall, or shrink your head, or turn you into a midget.  Essentially, you can tell it is you it just doesn’t look like the real you.

Now in Hebrews 1:3, it states that Jesus is an exact representation of God.  He fully reflected God with his life.  Jesus, being fully human, EXACTLY reflected who God is.  Do you want to know what God looks like, what He thinks, or how He would respond to life’s circumstances?  Simply look to Jesus and you will find the heartbeat of God.  That’s really quite impressive if you think about it.

But I am not sure how I feel about this entirely human Jesus exactly reflecting the image of God.  I don’t know if I like that much.  After all, I am called to reflect the image of Christ in my life.  And while Jesus reflected God exactly, I probably more resemble the amusement park mirror image.  I make Jesus look fat!  Or maybe he looks like he has a shrunken head.  Of course I am talking in the spiritual sense.  So how can I more accurately reflect Jesus that way He reflected His Father?  The answer I believe is to pursue Him daily and to allow Him to change me.  So Jesus, make me look more like you today.  In my life, I want to accurately reflect you to the world so that when they see me, they find you!

One thought on “I make Jesus look fat

  1. “I am the way and the truth and the life” – John 14:6

    ” I will put my Spirit in you and you will live, and i will settle you in your own land. Then you will know that i the Lord have spoken, and I have done it.” Ezekiel 73:14

    Fix your eyes on God and expect that your life will change when you begin to see things his way!!

Leave a Reply

