Save me completely!

Hebrews 7:25 Therefore he [Jesus] is able to save completely those who come to God through him, because he always lives to intercede for them.

Save me completely!

This morning, I got the picture of superman rushing into a burning collapsing building to save those who are trapped.  He swoops in and rescues them from their fire and their wreckage.  But something different happens that what we saw in all the superman movies.  Someone sustains 3rd degree burns all over his body while getting pulled out and has to live with the scars all his life.  Another lady gets crushed by a wall, leaving her a paraplegic.  She’s alive, but injured severely.  Then there are a few people who want to just stay in the building and ask Superman to hang out in there with them and block all the falling pieces of the building that are coming down.  “We want to stay in our apartment,” they say. “Just try and keep us from getting hurt here.”

That is so not how Superman works.  He doesn’t save people half-way;  he saves them all the way!  Here’s the good news – so does Jesus.  He pulls us out of our burning buildings of life.  He rescues us from the wreckage.  Jesus saves completely.  He doesn’t rescue us so that we can live inured.  He doesn’t rescue us so we can walk through life with spiritual scars.  He doesn’t rescue us so that He can hang out with us in our wreckage; he wants to pull us out!

Prayer: “Thank you Jesus that you have pulled me out of my wreckage.  I know that running back into the burning building makes no sense whatsoever, and yet we all seem to try it at some point.  Jesus you are alive today and you intercede for me.  Sometimes I feel like I am living with the burns and the scars, but you Jesus are able to heal me completely.  I praise you and thank you today that you save completely!”

2 thoughts on “Save me completely!

  1. I just read this passage the other day and it has been on my mind and it goes well with todays word.

    “I have you these things, so that in me you may have peace. in this world you will have trouble, but take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

Leave a Reply

