Personal Bodyguard

Hebrews 13:6 So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?”

Personal Bodyguard

When I first entered  into the scary world of High School as a freshman, I hadn’t yet hit that major teenage growth spurt.  I was going to a new school where I knew almost no one and it seemed like an intimidating place to be.  Here’s this scrawny little freshman walking the halls with big, hairy senior monsters who were sure to be planning my demise at any moment.  Who knew what they were planning, but I was sure they were planning something.  You know what I needed: a bodyguard.  Sure that would have looked weird, but definitely would have been convenient.  I would have settled for a friend who was a bully or even a thug.  I just needed some protection, man!

Sometimes we go through life feeling like the little guy too.  We could really use someone to fight our battles for us, someone to make sure that no matter what, we would be safe.  There’s just something about having the peace of mind that harm won’t be coming your way.  Here in Hebrews 13:6 it says that the Lord is my “helper.”  Now this word helper isn’t talking about someone who holds gets your coffee for you in the morning.  It is talking about someone who comes to your rescue in a time of need.

Today we need grasp the truth that the Lord is our helper and there is no need to be afraid.  When life gets overwhelming and we become scared, just say this with confidence.  “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.  WHAT CAN MAN DO TO ME?”   The answer: nothing.  You have a personal bodyguard, ask him to protect you today.

Leave a Reply

