Spandex must have superpowers!

1 John 4:4 You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.

Spandex must have superpowers

As a kid, I thought it would be so cool to be Clark Kent, Bruce Wayne, or Peter Parker.  They were just ordinary guys living ordinary lives.   But when trouble arose, something extraordinary happened.  All they had to do was tear open their shirt and reveal an awesome display of spandex superhero suits.  My goodness, spandex must have superpowers!  It was an incredible thing really – to be able to live a normal life on the outside and yet have this secret hidden super power on the inside.  Who wouldn’t want that?  What would someone give to be able to get that?

Through my walk with the Lord I have come to this realization: I do have that.  Here I am, just an ordinary guy living my life.  But I have a secret.  Underneath this exterior lies a power that is greater than anything in this world.  You see, I understand the truth that “greater us HE who is in me, than he who is in the world.”  But my superhero power doesn’t come from a spandex suit, praise the Lord!  It comes from even deeper within; it comes from the spirit of the Living God living within me.  And when I live out that realization I walk in power and in victory.  I don’t feel defeated.  I don’t get discouraged.  When I let He who is greater lead my life, there is nothing to fear.  All I need to do is pull back the exterior and be led by the Spirit.  Today, I invite you to do the same!

Leave a Reply

