Aw, mom.

John 2:1-5  1 On the third day a wedding took place at Cana in Galilee. Jesus’ mother was there, 2 and Jesus and his disciples had also been invited to the wedding. 3 When the wine was gone, Jesus’ mother said to him, “They have no more wine.”  4 “Dear woman, why do you involve me?” Jesus replied. “My time has not yet come.”  5 His mother said to the servants, “Do whatever he tells you.”

Aw, mom.

You have got to love moms.  Bethany and I like to watch this show, “Cake Boss” on TLC.  It is about this guy named Buddy who runs a family owned bakery that was left to him by his father.  His mom is still around, however. This is an Italian family from New Jersey and they are full of personality.  Buddy is the owner and the boss, but from time to time mom pulls out the, well… mom card.  I remember the time when he was upstairs making a cake and mom comes in, looks at it, and says, “no way.”  She didn’t like it.  It didn’t meet her approval.  He tried to argue with her and tell her it was his bakery but he wasn’t getting anywhere.  He simply got a “I’m the mom and I said.  Don’t talk back to your mother.”  Sheesh, a grown man getting the what-for by his mamma.

As I read this story about Jesus’ first miracle I can’t help but think of poor Buddy. The family is at a wedding and the wine runs out.  Now mom starts thinking.  She has a little secret: her son has the ability to perform miracles.  (I’ve always wondered if He was practicing at home or something. She had to have some evidence that he could pull this off.)  So she tells him, “hey Jesus, do your stuff.”  Awwwww mom, not right now.  It’s not time for this.  It wouldn’t be right. Her response?  She turns to the servants and says, “do what he tells you.”  In other words, “son you are doing this.”  Are you allowed to boss around the Son of God?  Really?  I guess if you are his momma!

What’s the point in all of this, you are wondering?  I am wondering that too – just kidding.  What I notice in this passage is simply the humanity of Jesus.  Because so often when I think about this Jesus who healed the lame, gave sight to the blind, was beaten and bruised and nailed to a cross… I think about a superhuman; I think of him as the Son of God.  But he did all those things as a human, just like me.  He felt the pain as much as I would have.  He required as much faith as I would to pray over a blind man and see him healed.  He was human.  Jesus really was human, just like us.  Now think about his life through those terms for a minute, not as the Son of God, but as the son of Mary who made him change water into wine.

One thought on “Aw, mom.

  1. It was necessary that Jesus be human so He could fulfill the role of Kinsman-Redeemer. The book of Ruth. between Judges and 1 Samuel, explains to us what a kinsman-redeemer is. He must be qualified, willing and able. To be qualified Jesus had to be human or He couldn’t have been our substitute.

Leave a Reply

