Stupid Questions

John 9:30-32 30 The man answered, “Now that is remarkable! You don’t know where he comes from, yet he opened my eyes. 31 We know that God does not listen to sinners. He listens to the godly person who does his will. 32 Nobody has ever heard of opening the eyes of a man born blind.

Stupid Questions

The setting of today’s scripture revolves around Jesus healing a blind man.  As I was reading today, I actually found the whole event quite humorous as the Pharisees asked what I call, “stupid questions.”  It reminds me of all the times in school when the teacher opens up the floor to questions.  Now in order to encourage the students to ask what is on their mind, they tell the class: “there are no bad questions”  In other words, ask anything, there is nothing you can ask that I will consider stupid, pointless, or a waste of time.  The problem is that it’s just not true.  There ARE stupid questions.  I remember sitting in class thinking, “I can’t believe you just asked that” and so on.  We try to make people feel good, but if we are being honest, there are questions that you shouldn’t ask.

When reading John chapter 9 today, I found the questions by the Pharisees, well… stupid.  The first one comes after the blind man tells them that a man has healed them.  He explains that Jesus put mud in his eyes and sent him off to Siloam to wash.  When he washed, he could see.  Then the questions comes: “where is this man?”  Hello?! The dude was blind when Jesus found him.  Didn’t you just hear him say that it was after he went away from Jesus that he could see?  The guy replies with “I don’t know,”  but I really wished he would have added the obvious, “I didn’t SEE him!”  Geesh.

Then they continue grilling him and for some reason think he must have an identical twin or something because they don’t believe that he is really the blind guy that they passed by EVERY DAY.  They call his parents to ask if he was their son. Duh!  So the formerly blind guy starts to get impatient and then goes all sarcastic on them, which I totally love.  (Sarcasm is actually in the Bible = awesome!)  This all leads us to verses 30-32.  So this likely uneducated blind man has to remind the learned Pharisees of the ways of God that their whole life is dedicated to studying.  That is, God doesn’t listen to sinners.  Therefore, Jesus must be of God; it really isn’t that hard to figure out.

And in the midst of all those stupid questions, comes a big take away: God listens to the godly person who does His will.  As for me, I am going to choose to be slightly less (okay, way less) thickheaded than the Pharisees and really listen to what this former blind man was saying.  I think we can all agree that we would like God to listen to us.  James 5:16 says, the prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective. I would like to have effective prayer.  So I will choose to approach God with a right heart.  I will choose to do the will of God and to strive to be godly in all I do.

Leave a Reply

