Jesus doesn’t give white elephant gifts

John 14: 27  Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Jesus doesn’t give white elephant gifts

Some people are better gift givers than others.  You know it’s true.  I don’t know if they are just better at it intuitively, they care more, they speak that love language, or they have a spiritual gift – no pun intended.  These are the people who seem to get into your very heart with the thoughtfulness of what you have just been given.  Some people, however, aren’t so great at it.  Maybe that is why they invented gift cards.  I don’t know, but it works for me!  And have you ever opened a gift and wondered, “were we supposed to be doing a white elephant gift exchange?”  Sometimes we get (and maybe give) those gifts that are really not that useful.

Jesus is a pretty good gift giver.  When he was getting ready to go to the cross and to heaven, he comforted the disciples by telling them that he was going to give them the Holy Spirit and that he was going to leave them his peace.  Now “Jesus Peace” sounds like a pretty good gift.  I wonder if the disciples wondered for a moment how Jesus was going to give them peace.  After all, you can’t wrap it up in a box and put a bow on it.  But he follows up his statement with this: “I do not give to you as the world gives.”  Isn’t that good?  Aren’t you glad?  I like a good gift as much as the next person, but I will take a Jesus gift any day!

I don’t know about you, but I am so glad that Jesus does not give as the world gives.  He gives the real deal.  He gives the things that I REALLY need for life.  He gives the best gifts possible.  And when I make a decision to pursue the things he gives rather than the things the world gives, my life is full.  I get his peace, his love, his plan for me.  I suggest that the next time we sit down to make a wish list, we should start by writing down some things that we would like to ask Jesus for.  Try it!  Christmas is right around the corner and those lists will be coming.  What will be at the top of your list?

Leave a Reply

