That would be a big book

Well, we have reached the end of the book of John.  I have read it many times before, but I got so much out of it this time!   Since we have just covered much of the book of Acts in our most recent sermon series, we are going to go next to the book of Romans here on the blog.  So tomorrow I will begin in Romans 1.  Feel free to read along with me and stay daily in the Word.  Now for the last chapter of John.

That would be a big book

John 21:25 Jesus did many other things as well. If every one of them were written down, I suppose that even the whole world would not have room for the books that would be written.

Have you ever gone to see a movie that was made from a book you have read?  Of course you have.  The movie version is usually great, because it brings to life the characters and the scenes of the book.  The only problem is that they have to turn it into a screenplay.  When that happens, parts get left out.  The same thing happens when you try to take a person’s life and put it on paper.  You can capture lots of things, but you can’t get it all.

Thus is the case with Jesus.  When we read through the gospels, we see so many miracles.  We see so many people find life in following Jesus.  In fact, when I look at the life of Jesus I am amazed at what he accomplished in just three years.  I am amazed at the number of people he touched.  And when I read John 21:25, I am even more amazed at Jesus’ words “greater things will you do.”  That has always been an overwhelming statement to me – a little intimidating really.  Greater things than Jesus?  Really?

Here in the last chapter of this book, John is sure to point out that there was no way he could contain all the Jesus did.  His statement that Jesus did many other things was quite the understatement.  In fact he says it best when he says that there would not be enough room in the world for the number of books it would take to write down the entire ministry of Jesus.  And you thought the Bible was long?  Imagine a book that contained all that Jesus did.  I think this must be one of the coolest verses I have come across.  It is such a huge statement!  Today as I think about Jesus and all he has done for me, I am thankful for him.  And when I think that there are thousands and millions of things he has done that I know nothing about, it makes me want to stand before him with my jaw hanging open.  That is the kind of awe I have for my Savior.  I guess that is what happens when you don’t contain him to words on a page, but see him for what he truly is – alive and active and still at work today!

One thought on “That would be a big book

  1. I must admit reading this brought a tear or two because of complete gratefulness to my Savior. It also made me step back and take stalk of my life. I am almost double Jesus age yet I am keenly aware of the hours, days and even years I have wasted. Jesus stayed the course and never veered to the right or to the left. What an amazing man!! What an amazing Savior!! He had the zeal, boldness and authority to say, “Follow Me”. I have the heart to do just that. Hear and there — now and then is simply not enough. Jesus, said of those that will follow him, “Greater works than these he will do.” Surely that is in number only. Imagine what Spirit Impowered believers could do for the Kingdom of God on this earth if we took seriously Jesus words.

Leave a Reply

