Just Finish?

1 Corinthians 9:24 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.

Just Finish?

I just want to finish.  Those are the words of someone who is out of shape running in a race.  While there is a certain sense of self-accomplishment with finishing, the feeling of winning is much better.  Imagine an Olympic athlete being interviewed before the big race.  “Do you think you can win?” the reporter asks.  She replies, “I didn’t really train hard enough to win, I just hope to finish.”

As ridiculous of a notion as this is, this type of thinking is far too prevalent in the lives of many Christians.  Paul compares our Christian life to a race.  We all run in the race but it seems that far too many people are just hoping to barely make it; they just want to finish.  They don’t engage in any personal training.  They don’t work to strengthen their heart or strengthen their muscles.  They just hope that when they die, they will have arrived at the correct finish line.

This is no way to live.  We are to run in such a way as to get the prize. We are to work on our speed, our endurance, and maybe even our hurdling skills.  Yes, it will require some work and it will require that we run. But we need to run.  We need to have our eye on the prize and live this life like everything is on the line.  We should want to win!

Winning takes focus.  Winning takes discipline.  Winning takes continued effort throughout all parts of the race.  It takes strategy and thought.  It takes knowing your opponent’s strengths and weaknesses.  It takes a lot to win.  But we must have a winner’s mentality.  We must make a decision to pursue victory.  I want to do so much more than just finish; I want that prize!  I want to hear, “well done.”  So today I choose to pick up my pace.  I will choose to get in the race and run for all that God has for me.  Join me in the race, will you?  Just know that I plan to win. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Just Finish?

  1. I love this. It is true on every front you mentioned. It makes me want to get my spiritual tennys double knotted.

Leave a Reply

