Wrong side of the magnet

2 Corinthians 6:17-18 “Therefore come out from them and be separate”, says the Lord. “Touch no unclean thing, and I will receive you.  I will be a Father to you, and you will be my sons and daughters”, says the Lord Almighty.

Kids can play with magnets for long periods of time.  They are fascinating, those magnets.  You can stick two together; you can draw pieces of metal toward them.  You can also turn one of them around the wrong way and the magnets will repel each other.  They will refuse to stick together.  Kids will spend hours just trying to figure that out.  Why will the magnets so easily stick together, but when turned over I can’t get them to touch?  They are both magnets, so it should work on either side.  I’m sure it has something to do with polarity and magnetic fields, but I’m not smarter than a 5th grader, so I can’t be certain.

If we can think in terms of magnetism for a moment, I will state that the ways of this world are like a magnet.  They attract.  In this passage of scripture, Paul is talking about unbelievers and their ways.  He says to come out from them and be separate.  It can be a hard thing, to come out of the world.  It has a pretty strong magnetic pull.  As humans, we are like the other magnet.  We most easily link up with the way of the world magnet.  It is attractive, alluring, and pulling.

But we are called to do something different.  We are, in essence, to be the wrong side of the magnet.  We’ve got to realize that God has called us to turn our lives over and start repelling. It’s harder though, to keep a magnet on it’s wrong side.  It naturally wants to flip over and attach itself to the stronger magnetic force.  But if you resist and stay the course, you can keep a magnet from flipping over, and thus maintaining that resistance.  We need to do the same with our lives.

“Come out from them and be separate”, says the Lord.  He has called us out to be different.  He has a higher way, a better route, a clearer path.  He is longing for those who will touch no unclean thing.  He is searching for those who will set their hearts on Him alone.  He is looking, and I want Him to find me.  I want to be one who doesn’t touch what is unclean in God’s sight.  It will make me into a radical, I am sure.  But I’m okay with that; I want to be a son.  I want to be the wrong side of the magnet.

Leave a Reply

