Jesus Freak

2 Corinthians 11:1 I hope you will put up with a little of my foolishness; but you are already doing that.

In 1995, D.C. Talk released their fourth album titled “Jesus Freak.”  It had the highest first week sales for a Christian album ever.  It went double platinum.  I bought it and it was a great album – probably the best one they ever made.  It was more than just an album, however.  It became the resurrection of the Jesus Freak movement.  The term was taken from the 70’s, a derogatory term used to criticize Christians.  But Toby Mac turned the phrase on it’s head.  He proudly declared, “I don’t really care if they label me a Jesus freak, there ain’t no disguising the truth.”

This, in essence, is what Paul is saying in 2 Corinthians 11:1.  The dude was a total Jesus freak.  He had extreme faith and a reckless abandon to his Lord.  He counted everything that the world holds dear as garbage for the sake of knowing Christ Jesus his Lord.  He was absolutely foolish and was okay with it.  Conventional living wasn’t all that important to him.  He says in this chapter of 2 Corinthians that he has been beat, whipped, stoned, and shipwrecked.  He was absolutely stark raving mad!  Nothing was going to stop this foolishness that was the absolute pursuit of the calling on his life.  The world’s wisdom was worthless to him.

I love this about Paul: his absolute confidence in his total foolishness. I want to be a Jesus freak too.  I want to forget  about all the worldly wisdom and put all my stock in the words of the Lord.  I want to live my life sold out completely for Jesus.  I want to pursue His calling and that alone.  Jesus said that the world and it’s things will all pass away, but the word of the Lord will last forever.  So I hope that you will put up with a little of my foolishness.  Because each day I am becoming more and more of a freak…  a Jesus Freak.

Leave a Reply

