Christ is my spinach

2 Corinthians 12:9-10 9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Remember Popeye the sailor man?  That poor guy just couldn’t get a break.  I mean Bruno was always trying to steal his girl and beat the living daylights out of him.  And Popeye was really a bit of a coward.  He was weak and didn’t stand a chance against that bully; that guy was a monster.  That’s where the spinach came in.  If he could just get his hands on a can of spinach, everything would be different.  He would gulp that stuff down and bam – those muscles started bulging out.  Superhuman strength came over him and he was unstoppable.  He was fierce.  He was heroic.  All because of the spinach.

Apparently the apostle Paul had spinach too.  But his spinach had a name – Jesus Christ.  Jesus said to Paul, “my power is made perfect in weakness.”  I wonder why we go around trying to act so strong and so together?  In reality, we would have perfect power if we were just real about our weakness.  Paul didn’t try to cover it up.  He said, “bring on the weakness.”  He was like Popeye in that way.  He reveled in the challenge, the insult, the hardship, and the persecution.  That sounds nuts, doesn’t it?  It isn’t nuts though.  Paul had something those hardships didn’t know he had: spinach.  I mean, Christ.

When Christ is my spinach, hardship doesn’t seem to weigh as much.  When Christ is my spinach, insults don’t seem to sting as much.  When Christ is my spinach, obstacles look easy to overcome.  He has overcome the world for goodness sakes!  There is no reason He can’t overcome what I am facing.  But I’ve got to eat the spinach. I have to realize that I am a weak, cowardly Popeye of a man and that in my weakness His power is made perfect.  And when I eat my spinach, who is Christ, the craziest thing happens – my spiritual muscles start bulging out.  And it is in that moment I start to believe, like Popeye did, that nothing will stand in my way!

Leave a Reply

