Mom, he’s copying me

Ephesians 5:1-2 1 Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children 2 and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.

Okay, get your whiny voices out and say this with me: “Moooooooooooom, heeeeee’s coooopying meeeee.”  Oh the dreaded copycat game.  Big brother hates it, little brother loves it.  For centuries, this little game of “say what big brother says” has been going and annoying older siblings tirelessly.  But the younger ones seem to revel in it.  Sometimes they do it to annoy, but most often they do it to emulate. They just want to be like big brother or sister. Regardless, big bro asks mom to make it stop.

So for centuries parents have been explaining to the oldest that the little one just wants to be like him.  They tell him to just have some patience and someday his little brother will grow out of it – which is only partly true.  And those tired parents then turn to the little one and try to explain that he needs to give big brother some space.  They kindly point out that it bothers him and that even though this little one wants to be like him, he should lay off a bit.  He should stop trying so hard to be like his big brother all the time.

Funny thing is, my heavenly Father has never told me to stop trying so hard to be like my big brother Jesus.  After all, Jesus was the firstborn and I am way down the line somewhere.  But I want to be like Him.  I want to act like Him and talk like Him.  I want to do the stuff that He did.   I want to do that copycat game with Him.  The coolest thing is, my Daddy in heaven doesn’t ask me to stop.  He actually encourages it.  He must think that my big brother is a really good role model or something, because He says that He wants me to be like Him. He wants me to be an imitator.  So I guess I will keep it up.  Maybe someday I will be just like Him.

Leave a Reply

