Married for a day… like Britney Spears

Colossians 2:6-7 So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.

Imagine a wedding without an ensuing marriage.  There is all the build up, all the excitement.  The bride and the groom get dressed up, say some vows, and eat some cake.  Then a couple days later, they decide not to be married anymore.  What a waste of time!  All that planning and preparation and build up just to end it.  It happens though.  The most famous example of recent time is Britney Spears, who married a childhood friend on a Saturday and filed for an annulment on a Monday.  I knew Hollywood weddings didn’t last long, but that has got to be a record.

We all look at that and say, “how foolish.”  Who would go through with marriage and decide not to be married?  Unfortunately, it happens every day – just not on that short of a timeline.  We base our marriage on the feeling of falling in love and when we don’t feel it, we conclude that we have fallen out.  We thrive in the thrill of newness, but when the thrill wears off, we are compelled to go seek a new thrill of sorts.  This isn’t marriage at all!  Marriage is a decision.  It is making a decision to live it out, to work on it and to build it.

The same decision awaits us when it comes to our Christianity.  Here in Colossians 2:6-7, Paul reminds us that even though we have received Christ, we need to choose to live in Him.  He is where we are to be rooted.  We ought to be working at strengthening our faith, not spending time in places that wear it down.  The instruction here is simple, but the walk is not.  There are days where we feel up and days where we feel down.  However, our Christianity is not based on a feeling; it is based on a decision. When I have decided to throw my life into Christ, I am saved.  What will I do with that salvation?  Will I live as a bride pretending to be unmarried?  Or will I invest and grow and build up my faith in my Jesus?  Today, I choose to live in Him.  In this relationship, I choose the long road.  I choose to remain married to my faith and to my Savior.

Leave a Reply

