Sometimes God promotes you

Joshua 3: 7 And the LORD said to Joshua, “Today I will begin to exalt you in the eyes of all Israel, so they may know that I am with you as I was with Moses.

God opposes the proud and gives grace to the humble, it’s true.  As Christians it is natural to defer honor and glory to God.  In fact, this is how we should be living.  We should give honor to Him with our lives.  We should seek to direct all the attention towards Him.  And while this type of mentality is good, we need to realize this: sometimes God promotes you.

Here in Joshua 3:7, the Lord says to Joshua: I will exalt you.  He tells him that He wants the people to know that Joshua was the new main guy.  He was the new head cheese, so to speak.  And the words that God uses are uncharacteristic of the humble Christian way.  He doesn’t say anything here about Joshua giving God glory.  He doesn’t instruct Him at this juncture to turn all eyes upon God.  He doesn’t tell Him to make sure that God alone is exalted.  No, the Lord tells him – I want to exalt you, Joshua.

This is a peculiar thought to me.  I look at my ministry calling, as a pastor, humbly.  I fully recognize that the work that God is doing is, well… the work that God is doing.  It isn’t about me.  I shy away from the spotlight or the compliments.  I want to avoid pride like a kid avoids spinach.  But this passage today has left me thinking.  While the success of the ministry is entirely dependent upon the anointing of the Holy Spirit, I might need to look at the fact that God chose me. As I see in Joshua 3 today, sometimes God promotes you.  Sometimes He chooses to lift us up.  He does it because He wants people to see that He is with us.  This isn’t something that we should resist or avoid.  Rather I should recognize when it is Him (not others) lifting me up and thank Him for it.  He must know what He is doing, so my role is to go along with His plan.

2 thoughts on “Sometimes God promotes you

  1. He DID choose you. Some recognized it before you did……He has equipped you with all you need to accomplished what He has called you to do. Did you ever think you would be in front of a congregation, speaking? Making people laugh, on purpose… and touching their hearts, making a difference in their everyday lives? I bet not, but God did and He has gifted you in this way. So now you get to execute His plan, for Orting and for you…. :))

  2. Not that you should get the big head or be prideful, I thank God that He has used you to be the pastor and leader of ALCC. I’ve seen such growth in you, in your heart for God and for the people of ALCC, even as I have grown and become more aware of the gifts He has given you and the heart which I know is an answer to your prayers.

    Now don’t be proud, but know you are loved, respected and appreciated!
    Perry

    (I just now saw Ruth’s post. Yes and amen!)

Leave a Reply

