Walking out the victory

Joshua 6:2-4 2 Then the LORD said to Joshua, “See, I have delivered Jericho into your hands, along with its king and its fighting men. 3 March around the city once with all the armed men. Do this for six days. 4 Have seven priests carry trumpets of rams’ horns in front of the ark. On the seventh day, march around the city seven times, with the priests blowing the trumpets.

I have a video game I like to play – it’s a baseball one.  I have had it for a while now and while I don’t play it often, it is still fun when I do.  The game isn’t really all that hard now that I have it figured out.  I actually beat the game, won the world series.  So when I go to play it now, I know I am going to win before I start.  Some people would say that is no fun, but somehow it is.  It is a strange thing, knowing you have already won before you start and then playing anyways.  Maybe I do it because there is still enjoyment on the way to victory even though it is inevitable.

In Joshua 6, there was much more than a video game at stake.  Here Joshua is receiving instructions from the Lord on the  battle plan.  God tells Joshua: “you have already won.”  But it doesn’t stop there.  Just because the victory was already his, God wanted him to walk it out.  He told him to march around the city walls.  In fact, it took seven days to see any real evidence that this victory was coming.  All Joshua had to lean on was the Lord’s word to him.  All he could do was obediently walk out what God had told him to do.  Just because the victory was his, didn’t mean that he could just sit back and do nothing.  God asked him to partner in the victory.  God had a part for him to do.

The same is with us today.  We know that through the death and resurrection of Jesus, we already have the victory.  Jesus has already won!  But He asks us to walk out that victory.  He asks us to participate in the battle.  It is not so that we can prove ourselves to Him; it is so He can prove Himself to us. As we respond in obedience to Him, He will be faithful to do His part.  He is a faithful God, true to all His promises.  He has delivered us the victory; it is ours to take hold of.   God simply asks us to walk around the walls and watch as He causes them to come crashing down.

2 thoughts on “Walking out the victory

  1. Sometimes it’s hard to take that first step with the thought of what God might ask us to do…but we are always in a better place when we do! If you get a chance, please come and check out my site at chanceman4. My name is Chris Chance and there is a link on my blog to listen to my CD, “Following You” featuring “You” and “His Prints Are in the Sand” (based on the Footprints poem). Also you can go to http://www.noisetrade.com/chrischance. You can download any or all of my songs for the price of your choosing…pretty good deal…you can even get them for free, as long as you put in an email address and zip code. We are trying to get this project up and moving, so anything you can do and any way you could pass it on would be greatly appreciated.Hope you enjoy and are blessed by it!!!!
    Thanks and God Bless!
    Chris

  2. I just read this part of Joshua this weekend and am glad that I saw this. This helps put it in better perspective- thanks!

Leave a Reply

