When I’m an old man

Joshua 13:1 When Joshua was old and well advanced in years, the LORD said to him, “You are very old, and there are still very large areas of land to be taken over.

Here in Joshua 13, the dude was getting old.  Very old – at least that is what God says to him.  Let’s just say this, if the guy who is eternity years old says that you are old, you probably are.  So what happens when you get old?  Does God look for someone else to do the job?  Does He look for someone a little more fit?  Maybe it was time for Joshua to go into the nursing home.  Possibly he should just retire and let someone more capable do the work.

Unfortunately, this type of cultural mentality leaks its way into the church today.  We have people among us who have walked with God the longest.  They have wisdom and maturity that we can only dream of.  They have walked through great battles and have much to teach us.  So we tell them to start a seniors group and go play pinochle or bridge or something.  Just because they retired from their occupation in life, doesn’t mean they should retire from the body of Christ. One should never retire from his/her calling.  We should be available to be used by God everyday that we draw breath here on this earth.

Such is the case with Joshua.  God says to him, “wow, you are getting really old Josh.”  But it doesn’t end there; God has work for him to do.  He still has an assignment.  The grey haired guy has still got it.   So the Lord essentially says, “let’s do this old man.”  Someday when I get very old, I want to hear God say the same thing to me.  I don’t want to sit around waiting for my life to be over. When I’m an old man, I still want to be used by God. When I’m an old man, I want to still give every bit of my life to my Lord and Savior.

One thought on “When I’m an old man

Leave a Reply

