It doesn’t hurt to ask

Joshua 15:18-19 18 One day when she came to Othniel, she urged him to ask her father for a field. When she got off her donkey, Caleb asked her, “What can I do for you?” 19 She replied, “Do me a special favor. Since you have given me land in the Negev, give me also springs of water.” So Caleb gave her the upper and lower springs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you are a parent, you have probably watched your kids get themselves into a jam.  Or maybe they have attempted something unsuccessfully and became frustrated or gave up.  It is hard to see our kids go through these things, but sometimes they make the choice to go through them.  What I mean is: they don’t ask for help.  I know that several times I have approached a frustrated son or daughter and said to them, “if you would have just asked me for help, I would have helped you.”  But they don’t always want to ask for help.  Sometimes they think that their independence is much more appealing.

Here in Joshua 15, Caleb’s daughter just got married to her cousin (don’t ask) because he captured some town that I can’t pronounce.  Something tells me it was somewhere down south.  Anyway, she gets married and decides to ask daddy for a favor.  It’s not a small favor; she wants more land – not just any land, either.  She wanted the land that had the water – the springs.  Now if it were me, I might be hesitant to ask for such a thing.  How could I ask dad for the springs?  But Acsah (his daughter) doesn’t hold back.  And wouldn’t you know it, he gives her the springs.

This exchange reminds me of the words of Jesus in Matthew 7:11 If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him! I’m not really sure why we don’t ask God for good gifts sometimes.  Maybe it is because we aren’t sure if He will give them to us.  Maybe it is because we don’t feel we deserve it.  Maybe we have come up with a rational reason why it isn’t practical.  In reality, none of those things matter.  Jesus essentially said that if Caleb was willing to give Acsah the springs, then God will certainly give His children the springs and far more.  The good news is this: He has already given us the springs of living water named Jesus. What’s even better is that He has a lot more giving to do.  So let’s not be those frustrated, independent little children.  Let’s ask Dad for some help.

One thought on “It doesn’t hurt to ask

  1. Great message Brad. I think that you are right. I’m a grandpa, and I always need to remember that I am still God’s child, and quit trying to be independent. ( Age makes us think that sometimes). keep up the good work and the Good News. Chuck

Leave a Reply

