Feeling left out?

Joshua 18:6-7 6 After you have written descriptions of the seven parts of the land, bring them here to me and I will cast lots for you in the presence of the LORD our God. 7 The Levites, however, do not get a portion among you, because the priestly service of the LORD is their inheritance. And Gad, Reuben and the half-tribe of Manasseh have already received their inheritance on the east side of the Jordan. Moses the servant of the LORD gave it to them.”

Feeling left out?  Sometimes the best things in life aren’t tangible.  Just ask the Levites.  They had the joy of listening to Joshua hand out an inheritance to all the tribes of Israel… all except them.  Because their reward was working for the Lord.  “It’s okay guys, don’t worry about land.  You get to work in the temple for the rest of your life.”  I wonder if there was that one Levite who was thinking that wasn’t a great trade-off.  Maybe there was the guy who really wanted some land.

As shallow as you may think I sound right now, I think it is a valid question.  At least to me it is.  I know that serving the Lord is the greatest thing, the most rewarding thing.  At my inner-most being, all I want is the Lord.  But I’ve got flesh too, and flesh likes stuff.  It likes a tangible inheritance.  Several years ago, a friend told me that they had been given a new ministry job.  I asked how much it paid.  Before he could answer (because I was pretty sure I knew the answer), I joked with him and said: “I’m not talking jewels in your crown type of pay either.  I mean cold, hard cash.”  We had a good laugh and I repented so don’t worry. 🙂  But seriously, there is a part of us that wants to know what our tangible reward will be.  We know that in eternity it will be worth it – we just happen to want it now.

Which made me think about the Levites in Joshua 18.  While they stood there watching everyone else get their land, did they think about what their inheritance was?  Did they realize that the privilege they had to know God and serve Him in His house was far greater than home ownership?  I wonder if they knew how great they really had it? And maybe we forget what a great privilege serving the Lord is.  We focus so much on what is in front of our face, that we often forget to seek His.  We give the physical things of this world so much weight that we lose sight of His authority over them. Let’s change our focus today.  Don’t feel left out when life doesn’t hand you everything that you think you need.  Instead, focus on the fact that He lets you know Him.  Doing so will change everything.

One thought on “Feeling left out?

Leave a Reply

