Protect love

Joshua 23:9-11 9 “The LORD has driven out before you great and powerful nations; to this day no one has been able to withstand you. 10 One of you routs a thousand, because the LORD your God fights for you, just as he promised. 11 So be very careful to love the LORD your God.

There are a million songs about love – it is the center of human expression.  Love is something we chase, something we give, and something that must be kept.  Love is like muscle: you have to maintain it to keep it strong.  When you don’t maintain it, love gets frail.  And frailty of love leads to hurt and disappointment.  Yes, broken love leads to broken hearts.  If we want love to remain, we must protect it.

In Joshua 23, Joshua told the people to love the Lord.  He went farther than just telling them to love God, he told them to be careful to love Him.  This word careful is the Hebrew word, shamar.  It means to keep, guard, and protect.  It means to save a life.  You see, he didn’t need to tell them to love the Lord – they already knew that. Instead, he told them to protect that investment of love. He told them to be on guard and to save love’s life.

So what does it mean to protect your love in the Lord?  I think it means to put some work into it.  I must be diligent in my love for the Lord.   I need to plan time to be with Him and invest in our relationship.  I should to pursue Him, not just expect Him to pursue me.  I would also be wise to be aware of the plan of the enemy to destroy our relationship.  Even if just for this reason I will be on guard, watching out for his attacks.  This is my commitment today: to be careful to love the Lord my God.

One thought on “Protect love

  1. Pastor Brad, for days this topic of loving God and others beyond feelings and circumstances has resonate in my heart. There are no quick fixes on the topic of love. Yes, there is the occasional miracle but for the most part, love is to be put on (Col.3:14). So I say to me first and anyone else who will listen, “Get dressed”.

Leave a Reply

