I’m not playing your game

Judges 16:15-17   15 Then she said to him, “How can you say, ‘I love you,’ when you won’t confide in me? This is the third time you have made a fool of me and haven’t told me the secret of your great strength.” 16 With such nagging she prodded him day after day until he was tired to death.  17 So he told her everything. “No razor has ever been used on my head,” he said, “because I have been a Nazirite set apart to God since birth. If my head were shaved, my strength would leave me, and I would become as weak as any other man.”

What is the deal with Samson and the women who nag him?  I just don’t understand what his deal is.  Now we all probably know this story – it’s the one where Samson gets a really short haircut and loses all his strength.  It wasn’t really the hair that gave him the strength, it was his covenant with God regarding his hair.  And for some reason, he took that covenant less seriously than this girl Delilah. While that bothers me as I read today, it isn’t what bothers me the most.  In fact, I don’t really blame Delilah at all – she was just trying to earn some cash.

Here’s what I don’t get: why in the world did Samson play along with her little games?  That was his first mistake: entertaining sin.  Because even though he new that he would be able to defeat her little devices, he made a terrible choice by playing the game in the first place.  The way he got to his demise was by playing along with her little games.  That is simply ludicrous.  She finally wore him down and he gave in.  C’mon Samson!  You would have never been in that situation if you would have just said, “I’m not playing along with your little games and I will not tell you the secret of my strength.  Drop it.”

We get ourselves into the same predicaments.  We play little games with sin.  We go places, watch things, and have conversations that we should never be having.  But we do it because we are pretty sure that we are stronger than the temptation.  And in most cases we probably are.  The problem is that, like Delilah, sin is persistent.  After a while, it will get you in a little deeper and finally wear you down.  One day you will be celebrating your victory and the next you will find yourself with a shaved head.  It just isn’t worth it.  So we must think farther ahead when it comes to such things.  We’ve got to look at these temptations not for what they are today, but what they will be in a month if we entertain them.  Today, look sin in the face and say, “I’m not playing along with your little games. Drop it!”

BONUS: Here’s a nice little Tim Hawkins video about Samson and Delilah.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

