That is one dysfunctional family!

Okay now.  I know I usually just pick one verse an go, but you have really got to read this whole chapter with me today.  It is really short.  The two verses that I am going to talk about are in bold.  Have a quick read.

Judges 17  1 Now a man named Micah from the hill country of Ephraim 2 said to his mother, “The eleven hundred shekelsof silver that were taken from you and about which I heard you utter a curse—I have that silver with me; I took it.”   Then his mother said, “The LORD bless you, my son!”  3 When he returned the eleven hundred shekels of silver to his mother, she said, “I solemnly consecrate my silver to the LORD for my son to make a carved image and a cast idol. I will give it back to you.”  4 So he returned the silver to his mother, and she took two hundred shekels of silver and gave them to a silversmith, who made them into the image and the idol. And they were put in Micah’s house.

 5 Now this man Micah had a shrine, and he made an ephod and some idols and installed one of his sons as his priest. 6 In those days Israel had no king; everyone did as he saw fit. 7 A young Levite from Bethlehem in Judah, who had been living within the clan of Judah, 8 left that town in search of some other place to stay. On his way he came to Micah’s house in the hill country of Ephraim. 9 Micah asked him, “Where are you from?”   “I’m a Levite from Bethlehem in Judah,” he said, “and I’m looking for a place to stay.”

 10 Then Micah said to him, “Live with me and be my father and priest, and I’ll give you ten shekels of silver a year, your clothes and your food.” 11 So the Levite agreed to live with him, and the young man was to him like one of his sons. 12 Then Micah installed the Levite, and the young man became his priest and lived in his house. 13 And Micah said, “Now I know that the LORD will be good to me, since this Levite has become my priest.”

All I can say is…what in the world is wrong with this family!?  This is the ultimate dysfunctional family.  Well almost.  You’ve always got the Bundys.  I don’t know if anyone can get close to them – maybe Roseanne or something.  We’ve definitely had some messed up families in our pop culture, haven’t we?  But what is going on with Micah and his mom?  Do they even have a remote clue as to who God is?  Are they confused about His commandments?

First of all, Micah’s mom decides to dedicate a bunch of money to the LORD.  She sets it apart for God and buys an idol with it.  Hello? That’s like Ozzy Osborne saying, “I dedicate this next song to the Lord.”  It’s like tithing to a strip club.  What in the world is wrong with this lady?  She dedicates idolatry to the Lord.  You can’t do that!  Unfortunately for Micah, she has passed down her dysfunction to him.  His views about God are just as messed up as hers.

He says in verse 13, “now I know the Lord will be good to me, since this Levite has become my priest.”  He must think that if he has a good enough pastor, God will bless him.  He is sadly mistaken.  Your pastor isn’t going to get you to heaven, Micah; you’ve got to pursue God for yourself.  You need to get rid of your stinkin’ idols and get right with God.  Just because you hired a guy whose family are priests doesn’t make you a follower of God. This is dysfunction, people!

The reality is, their views were simply polluted.  Their attempts at reconciliation with God only went half way.  Consecrating the money to God was a good thing – what she choose to spend it on was not.  Having a priest was a good thing – putting him in charge of your altar of idols was not.  In the same way, we can fall into the same dysfunction.  We can believe a bunch of half-truths about God, too.  We go to church and in exchange expect him to endorse our bad choices.  We tell him with our lips that our lives are consecrated to Him but turn to idols to meet our needs.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to be a dysfunctional child of God.  I want all in.  So I pray today that He will show me where my views are messed up and my lifestyle doesn’t match.  Please God, remove dysfunction from my life!

Leave a Reply

