That’s Dedication

Ruth 1:15-18   15 “Look,” said Naomi, “your sister-in-law is going back to her people and her gods. Go back with her.” 16 But Ruth replied, “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God. 17 Where you die I will die, and there I will be buried. May the LORD deal with me, be it ever so severely, if anything but death separates you and me.” 18 When Naomi realized that Ruth was determined to go with her, she stopped urging her.

I wonder if we really know what true dedication is? We are so conditioned in our culture to stick with something until we are not feelin’ it anymore.  That’s not dedication.  Dedication is Ruth sticking with Naomi.  She had no obligation to stand by her mother-in-law.  It was simply out of conviction.  And as we will soon find out, it was worth it.

The thing I admire about Ruth is that she didn’t waffle in her decision.  She didn’t give a conditional promise.  Rather she said, “I will go where you go, your people will be my people, and your God will be my God.”  That’s a big thing to sign up for.  It required denying herself and having a complete change in identity.  It required leaving behind everything she ever knew, all for a woman who was not her mother.  It was a choice she would have to live with for the rest of her life.  Yet, she was willing to make the choice.

The Bible tells us that our yes should mean yes and our no should mean no.  Yet we often commit to things and don’t follow through.  Sometimes we have good intentions and we just don’t put the work into the commitment.  Other times we never had any intention of doing what we said we would do.  As for me, I want to learn from Ruth.  I want to be dedicated to things worth dedicating my life toward.  And I want to stick with them.  I want to be a finisher.  To me, that’s what dedication is all about: finishing what you started. 

2 thoughts on “That’s Dedication

  1. I was just thinking about all the new “fulfilling” things I’ve started around here in the last couple of years–a little sewing, a little photography, a burst of energy every six months to really clean…such dedication until…heh…I wasn’t ‘feelin’ it anymore.’ Good word, Brad!

  2. Brad,

    I look forward to each post. You are a strong writer, and have great perspective. Thanks for blogging 🙂 There is always a new facet of my faith strengthened with what you share.

    Cheers,
    jewels

Leave a Reply

