The fruit of redemption

Ruth 4:13-18   13 So Boaz took Ruth and she became his wife. Then he went to her, and the LORD enabled her to conceive, and she gave birth to a son. 14 The women said to Naomi: “Praise be to the LORD, who this day has not left you without a kinsman-redeemer. May he become famous throughout Israel! 15He will renew your life and sustain you in your old age. For your daughter-in-law, who loves you and who is better to you than seven sons, has given him birth.”

16 Then Naomi took the child, laid him in her lap and cared for him. 17 The women living there said, “Naomi has a son.” And they named him Obed. He was the father of Jesse, the father of David.  18 This, then, is the family line of Perez…

Wow. As I read this last chapter this morning, I must admit that I got a little emotional. Here we have the story of two widowed women whose family lines are on the brink of extinction – the ultimate blow to the people of Israel.  God said “be fruitful and multiply” and this is exactly what they did.  There was great pride in a family line, even greater than our pride today.  This picture then is more than just redemption; it is a picture of the fruit of redemption.

This section starts off beautifully: so Boaz took Ruth and she became his wife.  As we have seen the last few days, it is the story of a foreigner who was taken in and treated as family.  It is a picture of us and Christ.  Here in Ruth 4 we have the wedding.  It is the picture of Christ and His bride.  Man, I love redemption stories!  But the part that really got me wasn’t poetic or profound.  Rather it was the last little section where the genealogy is listed.  It starts with these words: This, then, is the family line of Perez.

This is the family line!  Do you get that?  Redemption happened for Ruth, but it carried on for generations to come.  In fact, she became the great-grandmother of David.  David, people.  This is the same David who became the king of Israel, the same David whose lineage eventually led to Jesus, Himself.  And God used Ruth.  He used a foreigner to spark the ancestry of the King of Kings and Lord of Lords, Jesus Christ.  Her redemption had great fruit!

I marvel at the character and plans of God today.  I am in amazement that he would use a foreigner as part of His plan to redeem all who were far away.  The fruit of her redemption was Jesus.  I know I am getting repetitive here, but this is such an incredible thing. And it leads me to think about the fruit of my redemption.  God has embraced me, too.  He has forgiven me and accepted me and calls me His son.  I want to have fruit to my redemption too.  (I don’t want to get pregnant, however.)  I want His mighty work in me to bear something.  I want it to mean something not just to me, but to those who come after me.

So God, I pray, let the fruit of Your redemption work in me be sweet.  Let it be lasting and let it be pleasing to You.  Thank you for redeeming my life.  Now I give it back to You.  Here I am, Lord, all of me.  I am wholly yours to bear the fruit that will be life to world.

2 thoughts on “The fruit of redemption

  1. What an interesting (?) genealogy: Perez (the product of Judah’s fornication with his daughter-in-law in Genesis 38)and Rahab (also a gentile and from the story of Jericho in Joshua 2).

    Perry

Leave a Reply

