Looking for donkeys

I Samuel 9:5-8  5 When they reached the district of Zuph, Saul said to the servant who was with him, “Come, let’s go back, or my father will stop thinking about the donkeys and start worrying about us.” 6 But the servant replied, “Look, in this town there is a man of God; he is highly respected, and everything he says comes true. Let’s go there now. Perhaps he will tell us what way to take.” 7 Saul said to his servant, “If we go, what can we give the man? The food in our sacks is gone. We have no gift to take to the man of God. What do we have?”  8 The servant answered him again. “Look,” he said, “I have a quarter of a shekel of silver. I will give it to the man of God so that he will tell us what way to take.” 

Here in 1 Samuel chapter 9, we find Saul and his servant out on an expedition to find daddy’s donkeys.  Or so he thought.  In verse 5, we pick up at the part in which Saul is ready to give up.  He thinks dad might get worried so he should turn back.  But his servant suggests they go find Samuel and ask him for some advice.  Do you get that?  The servant is the one who recommends going to see Samuel.  And it is the servant who comes up with the quarter of a shekel of silver which makes this plan acceptable to Saul.

So as it seems, this visit to Samuel is a side trip to the journey.  In practical terms, Samuel is going to be the gas station where they stop and ask for directions.  It turns out, however, that Samuel was really God’s intended destination all along.  He used lost donkeys to get Saul there; He used a servant to get him there.  So when Saul meets Samuel, he is in for quite the surprise.  He was out looking for donkeys and found the throne. 

It strikes me as I read this that we so often don’t go look for the donkeys because we have put God’s vision for our lives in a box.   We say things like, “I’ve got a plan of royalty prepared for me.  My God has great plans for me!  I don’t have time to go out looking for donkeys.”  All the while, looking for donkeys may be the path God has for our future.  This is the way of God, isn’t it?  He wants us to go out on the journey set before us and leave the destination up to Him.  You may be on a road you didn’t plan on.  You may be following God on a donkey finding expedition.  But will you trust that His perfect plan for you has not been lost?  Saul’s journey didn’t end the way he expected it to when he first set out, but it resulted in him finding the calling on his life.

One thought on “Looking for donkeys

  1. Wow! I can’t believe how much this hit home with me. Long story short is that I am currently attending a church and working with the youth because of a girl who at first was interested in me, and now has gone to complete avoidance and leaving the church for another with no explanation. I find myself drawn to being at this church but did not expect at all to be on this path. All I can do is trust God and go with it. Looks like I am learning that “He wants us to go out on the journey set before us and leave the destination up to Him.”

Leave a Reply

