Are you hiding from your calling?

I Samuel 10:20-22  20 When Samuel brought all the tribes of Israel near, the tribe of Benjamin was chosen. 21 Then he brought forward the tribe of Benjamin, clan by clan, and Matri’s clan was chosen. Finally Saul son of Kish was chosen. But when they looked for him, he was not to be found. 22 So they inquired further of the LORD, “Has the man come here yet?”    And the LORD said, “Yes, he has hidden himself among the baggage.”

Oooo, a little game of hide n’ seek with God, huh?  Didn’t Saul know the story of Adam and Eve?  You can’t really hide from God.  There seems to be no shortage of hiders in the Bible, either.  Gideon hid because he was afraid of the enemy; God showed up and called him mighty warrior.  Jonah hid because he didn’t like God’s assignment; God sent a whale to set him straight.  But hiding in the luggage, Saul?  Really?

There’s something different about Saul’s hiding, though.  It doesn’t seem to be because of sin, shame, or fear of bad guys.  Saul seemed to be afraid to accept his calling.  You see, this assembly that Samuel called was fresh off a supernatural experience that Saul had just walked through.  He was anointed by Samuel to be the King of Israel.  The Lord not only changed his heart, but also filled him with His Spirit.  Then Saul went out and prophesied with the prophets.  He essentially became an Old-Testament, born-again, spirit filled man. Then he hid.

And it is the timing of his hiding that puzzles me most.  I mean, we all try to hide sometimes.  When the heat gets to be too hot, we’ve got to get out of the kitchen.  But I wonder if we try to hide from our calling like Saul did.  Maybe he hid because even though he was spirit-filled and anointed, he didn’t know how to be king.  He probably didn’t feel ready or equipped.  He likely worried about what everyone was going to think about him.  Whatever the reason, he attempted to hide from his destiny.

I don’t want to hide from my destiny; I want to embrace it.  Even though I don’t feel equipped and ready, I must have enough confidence in my God that I can stand tall and walk in that calling.  So you won’t find me among the luggage.  No, you won’t find me hiding.  I will walk toward all that He has for me, even when I am unsure.  He has given me a new heart and filled me with His Spirit.  I intend to do something great with it!

One thought on “Are you hiding from your calling?

Leave a Reply

