Go ahead and be crazy

I Samuel 21:12-13   12 David took these words to heart and was very much afraid of Achish king of Gath. 13 So he pretended to be insane in their presence; and while he was in their hands he acted like a madman, making marks on the doors of the gate and letting saliva run down his beard.

When all else fails, act like you are crazy.  It’s quite the interesting approach, really.  I don’t know about you, but I usually try to NOT look crazy, so this seems a bit counter-intuitive.  At the same time, it is brilliant.  Here you have a another king who is threatened by David and could potentially do him in.  So David acts like a madman, so as not to be a threat.  I bet it was that kind of creativity that kept David alive all those years when Saul was trying to kill him.  Sometimes I look like an idiot, too.  Except that I don’t do it on purpose.  I guess you could say it just comes naturally to me.

I don’t really know what I am supposed to learn from this today, except that maybe it’s okay to be a little crazy for the Lord.  Sometimes it’s okay to wave you hands in the air like you just don’t care?  I really just decided to write about this because I thought it was funny.  I guess I love that the Bible is full of quirky weird things that people did.  Here you have a man who was anointed as the next king of Israel and he is acting like a lunatic.  These kind of stories give me the freedom to be quirky, too.  They give me permission to be myself, not to try and live up to some expectation.

Because it seems like David could have called out to the Lord for protection.  He could have rallied a bunch of men to stand at his defense.  But he chose crazy.  And even though we make odd choices sometimes, it doesn’t mean that they are wrong choices.  They are just different.  So today I think we all have to be okay with being different.  We have to be okay with doing something that seems a little unconventional, a little crazy.  It might just be the perfect response to our situation.

Leave a Reply

