I’m not that stupid

I Samuel 26:21-221 Then Saul said, “I have sinned. Come back, David my son. Because you considered my life precious today, I will not try to harm you again. Surely I have acted like a fool and have erred greatly.”  22 “Here is the king’s spear,” David answered. “Let one of your young men come over and get it. 23 The LORD rewards every man for his righteousness and faithfulness. The LORD delivered you into my hands today, but I would not lay a hand on the LORD’s anointed. 24 As surely as I valued your life today, so may the LORD value my life and deliver me from all trouble.” 

In today’s reading, we have yet another instance where David had the chance to kill King Saul but didn’t.  Last time, he cut off the hem of his robe while he sat on the throne… not the royal one, the porcelain one.  Today, we read that Saul was sleeping when David snuck into camp and took his spear and water jug.  He then travels a safe distance and calls out to Saul’s camp,  “Why are you trying to kill me?”  Again, Saul realizes his sinful ways and apologizes to David – again.  This time, however, Saul tells David to come back and refers to him as “son.”  He promises not to try to harm David again.

David’s response?  “I’m not that stupid.”  Good for David, you know.  It would be so easy to get caught up in the approval of the king or for restoration to take place.  But David was wise.  He tells Saul to send one of his young men to come get the stuff.  There is no way he is going to walk back into that camp with everyone awake.  I applaud this wisdom, this discernment.  We need this kind of wisdom in our lives, don’t we?  We need to know who to trust.  We need to know who is reliable.  This kind of wisdom, the kind David had, comes from God. 

Wisdom led David to honor the king and at the same time, not trust his motives.  Because even though God had promised David the throne, he did his part to stay alive while he was waiting.  He wasn’t recklessly counting on God to bail him out.  He exercised wisdom.  I pray that I have this kind of wisdom in my life.  I pray that it will guide my decisions, my actions, and my thoughts.  I pray that it will define my relationships and my leadership.  Lord, give me your wisdom today!

Leave a Reply

