I’m a bonehead, but I’m also a son

1 Samuel 27:1  But David thought to himself, “One of these days I will be destroyed by the hand of Saul. The best thing I can do is to escape to the land of the Philistines. Then Saul will give up searching for me anywhere in Israel, and I will slip out of his hand.”

I’m not feeling too comfortable with this decision.  It seems like an all around bad idea.  Now walk down memory lane with me, will you?  Just a few chapters back, David acted like an insane person to the king of this here mentioned land in order to not be killed.  And several chapters before that, there was this really big dude named Goliath that David killed with a rock.  Big dude, small rock.  Goliath was with the bad guys – the Philistines.

Now David decides that his best choice is to live among them – the Philistines.  What troubles me about this whole setup is the fact that there is no suggestion that this move on David’s part was due to the Lord’s leading.  He just thought that it was his best choice.  I guess if someone were to spend several years trying to hunt me down and kill me, I’d think about relocating too.  But among the Philistines?  Really?

David, a mighty man of God, a brave warrior, hides.  He lies to the king and plunders the locals.  But God still has favor on him.  We’ve probably all made lousy decisions like David did.  We lose focus on who our protector is and think enemy land is the safest place to be.  Our brains malfunction and we stop trusting in God.  What I learn from David today is that I can’t escape from being a child of God.  Even when I make bad decisions I am still His.  Even when I sin, His grace hangs out with me.  And what does that do to me?  It causes me to go running back to Him over and over again.  So I run again to Him today, thankful that He is my protector, provider, shield and strength.  I am His child and no boneheaded decision on my part will ever change that.

3 thoughts on “I’m a bonehead, but I’m also a son

  1. I think a lot of people feel that living in the land of the Philistines or among people doing sin, they are safe from judgement. My siblings are all unsaved and they all have sin in their own ways; they feel being around me or going to church they will catch a flame from all the sin the do; and if they just stay around people who understand that sin they are more comfortable. Sometimes doing the right thing is the most uncomfortable feeling of all!

Leave a Reply

