Favor with the bad guys

1 Samuel 29:6-7   6 So Achish called David and said to him, “As surely as the LORD lives, you have been reliable, and I would be pleased to have you serve with me in the army. From the day you came to me until now, I have found no fault in you, but the rulers don’t approve of you. 7 Turn back and go in peace; do nothing to displease the Philistine rulers.”

I have to admit, I was a bit nervous for David today.  He was about to go into battle against his own people.  He might have to kill one of his brothers or his friends.  It was a sticky situation – a situation he ended up in due to the fact that the king of Israel was trying to kill him.

It’s happened to me before, well… sort of.  It might have happened to you, too.  It was that time when I showed up with my team to play baseball or soccer or something, I don’t remember what sport it was exactly.  But the other team was short a player, so I ended up volunteering to play with them.  My friends were now my foes and I wasn’t sure I liked it much.   I wasn’t faced with killing anybody, but you get the point.

Favor.  That’s what David carried around with him wherever he went.  Here he was, living in enemy land about to fight alongside the bad guys, and God gave him favor with their king.  The king had found no fault in him; he called David reliable.  This is how I want to be known to the world.  We all have leaders who aren’t fighting on God’s side, if you know what I mean.  But we can still find favor with them.  We can still be an example of God’s character.  Who knows, you might even get the opportunity to introduce them to the God of Israel.

3 thoughts on “Favor with the bad guys

  1. I had to read the whole chapter since I am not very Bible studied yet! lol I was reading on why the others did not like David or trust him; that he fought with their enemy done great things and now fighting with them why wouldn’t he take this opportunity to win the favor of his King Saul again? So this brave amazing man of God whom everyone knew could kill tens of thousands was sent home instead of fighting. Now I wonder to myself why wouldn’t God use David’s skill to fight in that battle against his enemies? With David and his army they would have won that battle for sure! When we think something is meant to be …. and then God changes our path …… how do we feel?

    Maybe God had bigger plans than just that battle ….. When David arrived home to find his family stollen, his city burned and then among newfound enemies again! The people wanted to stone him! Seems he lives among enemies often…. But the FAVOR that David has due to his example of God’s character keeps him safe. When they found that Egyptian they could have beaten the information out of him, they were angry! If they had killed my abducted burnt my city I may be on a war path….. but David fed him, gave him water, spoke to him as an equal which an egyptian slave probably didn’t get often! Now that is God like behavior!! and because of that behavior David was given everything back to him and more~!

Leave a Reply

