The burden of unforgiveness

2 Samuel 3:26-27 26 Joab then left David and sent messengers after Abner, and they brought him back from the well of Sirah. But David did not know it. 27 Now when Abner returned to Hebron, Joab took him aside into the gateway, as though to speak with him privately. And there, to avenge the blood of his brother Asahel, Joab stabbed him in the stomach, and he died.

What is up with these people?!  They just keep killing each other like crazy.  Is that really the best solution that they could come up with?  Here we have Joab who is still pretty ticked off about his brother Asahel getting killed by Abner.  Not to mention that Abner had told Asahel to stop following or he would kill him.  So Joab gets all bent out of shape when Abner tries to make peace with David… and he kills him.

That’s the best response you could come up with Joab?  After all this time you are still that messed up that you have to kill the guy?  There was another option, you know.  He could have forgiven.  It’s not the easiest thing to do, but it’s the right thing to do.  Here he was, living with that feeling inside him that he needed to get even.  It kept him trapped, locked up, imprisoned.  The only way to take care of that feeling was to act on it.

If only he knew the power of forgiveness.  It takes that burden away and places it on the shoulders of our God, who can handle it.  It gives us peace and restores order to our hearts.  Forgiveness.  It’s what Jesus died for.  If you are trapped today by wrongs done to you and feelings of hate and anger, you have a choice to make.  Will you kill that person in your heart or choose to forgive?  I promise you that if you will choose forgiveness, you will find that you are the one who is truly set free.

2 thoughts on “The burden of unforgiveness

  1. Forgiveness is a HARD one! I deal with my own forgiveness battles….. He deserves to not go to heaven…. I actually said that once…… I truthfully deep down still feel it and that is how I know I have to grow more in Faith… I do not yet understand His full love and do not act as He does if I have hatred for this person; no matter what he did to me no matter how evil or sinful….. I do not have the right to judge him; we are all sinners. Mat 6:14-15 (NIV) “For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But, if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.” How many sins has He forgiven me?!?!?! More than we even know! We think I do not murder, do drugs, I do not cheat, or hurt people; but there are so many more sins that hurt God as well……. In a woman’s retreat class taught by a good friend of mine she taught on forgiveness….. it was so needed to be placed in my heart.. even though I still am working it out it is in there logged in my mind and will come to the surface when my heart is ready. She said You do not need to trust, like, see face to face, or even let them back in your life to forgive!!!!!! To forgive is to give it to God and let that hatred go, forgive them for what they did to you so God can fill you back up!

Leave a Reply

