Dancing in undies

2 Samuel 6:21-22 21 David said to Michal, “It was before the LORD, who chose me rather than your father or anyone from his house when he appointed me ruler over the LORD’S people Israel—I will celebrate before the LORD. 22 I will become even more undignified than this, and I will be humiliated in my own eyes. But by these slave girls you spoke of, I will be held in honor.”

Everybody puts your hands in the air… and wave ‘em like you just don’t care.  That’s what David did.  But it wasn’t about him having fun at a rap concert; it was about worship.  This was a grown man, the king of all Israel.  He was supposed to be proper and reserved and well, kingly.  Instead, he danced in the streets in his undies – a move that would surely have made Tom Cruise’s “Risky Business” underwear dance look tame.  He didn’t care what people thought; he was free before his God.

What is it friends, that makes us grownups so boring?  What happens in our brain that causes us to stop having fun?  This summer while on vacation, I watched many parents interact with their kids.  Here’s what I saw: parents sitting on the shore (or poolside) in a chair while their kids played in the water.  I watched kids look at their parents hoping they would come join them and have fun in the water.  They wanted to be splashed, thrown, dunked, and carried.  But mom and dad didn’t want to get in, let alone get splashed.

This is not a commentary on bad parenting – there’s nothing inherently wrong with parents watching their kids play in the water.  This is however, an observation on the fact that parents were too dignified to get in and play.  Some moms didn’t want to be seen in a swim suit; some dads didn’t want to look foolish. However, I did see some parents jump in and play with their little ones.  It was those kids who squealed and giggled and splashed like crazy.  Those parents may have looked childish to other boring adults, but they were heroes that day in the eyes of their children.

Our problem lies with this quandary: what happens if I look foolish?  And by getting stuck in this self preservation, we rationalize away our freedom.  What will people think if I raise my hands during worship and sing at the top of my lungs?  What will people think if I dance to my God?  (Side note: please do not dance in your underwear at a church service.)  I would answer the previous two questions this way – does it matter to anyone but God?  We should concern ourselves far less with what other people think.  God was pleased with David; He smiled on his humility and willingness to be undignified.  So let us follow suit.  Let us set out on a passionate pursuit of a God who will make us free .  And in that freedom, may we find that the only view of us that matters is His. 

2 thoughts on “Dancing in undies

  1. LOVE it!!!!!! I am so in agreement with you. Too many parents are watchers in their children’s lives. I must say I am proud they were even watching them in the water!!!! I see those parents who don’t pay one bit of attention while their kids play…. parents who read a book while your kid (depending on age) is in water which is dangerous! Being in childcare I see the parents who do not care about the art they make…. poor kids are soo proud and the parents are like ..yeah… thats nice hunny and throws it away! I have seen this happen! Ok back on track!!! This Sunday was AMAZING for me!!! Not only did I bring a friend, but I brought my husband which was only God’s doing!! Then on top of that I got to worship with (only one) of my girls!!! We sang and raised our hands and danced and clapped!!!!! My friend was looking nervous and my husband was trying to keep it together….. Not me!!!! My kids do this for me! I don’t want to really be the weird mom ….. but I am ok with being weird for God!! I danced with my friends daughters I want them to see I am excited for God. I am a shy girl around people I don’t know and so is my daughter; but this is our FAMILY!! HE is our GOD!! He loves us; every ounce of us silliness or not. It took me two years to raise my hands in worship… I will NEVER put them down again… now I raise my daughters as we sing! Nothing made me more proud than to see her singing and her father seeing us, and her friend seeing us; I prayed they be JEALOUS!! Be jealous for my love for the Lord! Want it thrive for it… join our family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

