Is this normal?

2 Samuel 7:18-19 18 Then King David went in and sat before the LORD, and he said:  “Who am I, O Sovereign LORD, and what is my family, that you have brought me this far? 19 And as if this were not enough in your sight, O Sovereign LORD, you have also spoken about the future of the house of your servant. Is this your usual way of dealing with man, O Sovereign LORD?

We focus so much on our lack, don’t we?  Our conversation with God seems to be a broken record of asking to be taken care of or blessed.   It’s because we seem to naturally focus on what we don’t have rather than what we do.  David had a house, clothes, a wife… well actually many wives (not advisable).  Keep in mind that David had spent many years running for his life having no idea where he would sleep at night or where his next meal would come from.  So his life has turned around 180 degrees and he is the king of Israel.

On this occasion, David had just received a prophetic word that God was going to establish his family forever and that his son would build a temple for the Lord.  I love David’s response to God; it was an overwhelmed type of response.  “God, you’ve already done so much for me.  You rescued me and put me in the highest place in the land.  But now you are going to tell me about the future greatness of my children and the promises you have for generations to come?  That’s just too good of you!  Do you normally treat people this way?”

It’s that last statement that really caught my eye – is this your usual way of dealing with man?  I love the awe and wonder David had of God.  He was not pretentious or assuming.  Here he was getting blessed like crazy and he asks God if this is normal.  What a great question!  Why me God?  Why have you chosen to bless me this way?

Now we don’t see that David stopped talking long enough for God to answer him, but I believe there is an answer to this question.  The answer is this: “no, not everyone gets blessed like this, David.  But then again, not everyone is after MY heart.”  And that’s the thing: God blesses abundantly those who pursue Him with their whole lives.  He takes care of them and pours out on them his glorious riches.  But look what David called God, Sovereign Lord.  He meant it too.  If we would just let Him be Sovereign Lord in our lives, I bet we would have questions about His abundant blessings too.

2 thoughts on “Is this normal?

Leave a Reply

