One big happy family

2 Samuel 21:1  During the reign of David, there was a famine for three successive years; so David sought the face of the LORD. The LORD said, “It is on account of Saul and his blood-stained house; it is because he put the Gibeonites to death.”  

Warning: There are 2 big takeaways today.  Yes, in this one little verse there are two profound truths we can discover.  So bear with me as I tackle them both.

Up first: I wonder what took David so long to ask God what was going on.  Do you ever do this?  Israel had some serious lack for three straight years when David finally decides to ask God what is going on.  I’ve experienced this phenomenon myself.  I remember one year as I was planning a summer outreach, the other leaders and I would regularly meet to plan out the details.  We would talk for two hours and accomplish nothing.  Then one of us would say, “maybe we should stop and ask God what we are to do.”  It was a giant, NO DUH!  So we prayed and God showed us the plan.   Why are we humans like this?  We struggle on our own for far too long before we ask God for His help.  If we would just ask God why there is a famine in the land sooner, maybe we wouldn’t have to endure it for three years.

The second part of this verse gives us a good dose of Godly truth as well.  Let me paint a picture for you.  Let’s say that in the church there were two types of Christians: those who grew up in Christian homes and those who did not.  We will call these two groups the “lifers” and the “latecomers.”   Now what if the lifers decided that they were superior to the latecomers.  They had been saved longer and didn’t really care for inexperienced Christians.  (Boy, I hope this doesn’t really happen anywhere!)  So the lifers decide to form their own little subgroup that only lifers are welcome to.  The latecomers don’t belong and considered second-class citizens.  What are your thoughts on that?

That would be a shame, wouldn’t it?  That would defeat the purpose of the church; it would be contrary to the heart of God.  But Saul committed a similar crime – he killed Gibeonites.  Who are the Gibeonites, you ask?  They are a people group who the Israelites made a treaty with in the book of Joshua.  They weren’t born the people of God, but they were brought into the nation of Israel and were given the privilege of serving the Lord.  They essentially became one big happy family.  You see, once God adopts someone in – He doesn’t plan on kicking them back out.  Once He promises protection, He doesn’t throw them to the wolves.  Saul violated God’s heart by killing those who seemed less important to God.  He misread God’s heart and passed judgement that wasn’t his to pass.  Let’s not do the same.

2 thoughts on “One big happy family

  1. I feel that on both sides some times. Because I am a new believer had not been brought up I feel I am behind in the race…. then those in front of me and like nana nana boo boo!! you cant catch me….. Or look at all the scripture I know, what about you!?!? Instead of taking this as a put down I now take it as a challenge! I will learn those scriptures and I will get that relationship with God, but I will learn from how I felt when I was (am) a new believer…. those who do not believe are scared… they want to believe in something… but everything is so scary what if we make the wrong choice? They cant understand it and in a world of knowledge is key these people need to know they whys?? and hows??? and whens?? After we become close with the Lord we find out we cannot know everything we just have to trust Him. When I think back before my Christ days I would never have thought I would Trust anyone let alone someone I cannot “see” and people mock….. but now that I am in His light I do not care what anyone else says …… He is our one true and only God and He loves us; all of us no matter when, where, how, or why we can to Him!

  2. There are times I am envious of those who have known Jesus their whole life. I feel as though I have missed so much. But then I remember even though I may not have been in the family as long, I am no less a member and loved just the same. 🙂

Leave a Reply

