Baywatch Jesus

2 Samuel 22:17-18    “He reached down from on high and took hold of me; he drew me out of deep waters.  He rescued me from my powerful enemy, from my foes, who were too strong for me. 

Ever feel like what you are up against is just too strong? Maybe it is an obstacle, or a work situation, or even a temptation.  At times you feel powerless to do anything about it.  You give in, give out, and give up.  It doesn’t have to be that way.  You serve a God who is so much stronger than the storm you are facing.

In 2 Samuel 22, David paints us a picture of what God does when we call to Him for help.  Imagine swimming out in the ocean, when you find yourself out farther than you want to be.  The current starts pulling on you and you realize you are no longer in control.  You fight to swim to shore, but the waves keep pulling you out.  You begin to panic and start to lose energy.  The ocean is just too strong.  You cry out for help at the top of your weary lungs hoping against all odds that someone will hear you and come to your aid.  Out of nowhere, a hand reaches out to you.   It carries you against the current and through the crashing waves and brings you to dry land.  When you look up, you see him: your rescuer… maybe he’s even wearing red shorts.  It’s like Baywatch Jesus.

I love this picture (not the red shorts part), because David so aptly shows us the picture of a rescuing God.  When we are about to be swallowed up, He reaches down and pulls us out.  When the enemy comes pressing in, Jesus steps in.  When the hardships of life feel like they are too strong, we have a savior who is stronger!  Like David, I praise Him today.  Like David, I turn to Him in my time of need.  When I feel weak, I cry out for help and He is there.  When temptation comes, I don’t have to drown – I can call on my Baywatch Jesus to pull me out.

One thought on “Baywatch Jesus

Leave a Reply

