Did I do that?

2 Samuel 23:2 “The Spirit of the LORD spoke through me; his word was on my tongue.”

Remember Steve Urkel?  The poor kid sure blew it a lot.  His famous line was, “did I do that?”  He broke stuff and said stuff that he probably wished he could do over.  Sometimes I wish I could have a do-over… especially in my conversations.  At times, I wish I would have been more compassionate or more bold or more gracious.  This darn tongue of mine seems to have a mind of its own!  I’m not going to beat myself over it, but I want to do something about it.  At the end of David’s life, he said these words: “The Spirit of the Lord spoke through me; his word was on my tongue.”  Can I say that?

Let me tell you what happens when a question like that is posed.  The first thing we do is think about our failures.  I’m sure David failed.  He certainly said some things that weren’t the Lord’s word speaking through him.  He may have said some things that misrepresented God.  Even if he didn’t, he surely he said things like, “I have to go to the bathroom.”  What I am getting at is that we should be be striving to have the Word of the Lord on our tongue at all times but not to overspiritualize it. We should be striving to have the Spirit of the Lord speak through us, without getting caught in the perfection trap.

It isn’t about performance anyway; it’s about pursuit.  If we would just pursue Him with our whole lives we would find His words on our tongue.  He asks us to give Him our thoughts, our sins, our dreams, and our plans.  In exchange He gives us His thoughts, His righteousness, His dreams, and His plans.  That’s what I want!  I want all that He has to offer.  I want to say of my life that the Spirit of the Lord spoke through me – not just every once in a while, I want to be defined by that.  When others hear me speak, I want God’s heart to come out, not mine.  When others see my actions, I want them to see the hands and feet of Jesus.  It will require effort, but it can’t happen through my effort alone.  It will happen as I pursue Him, surrender my life, and allow His Spirit to live in me and through me.  Bring it on today, Lord.  I want all of YOU!

2 thoughts on “Did I do that?

  1. Not sure if you meant for me to taking it this way but I took this: “What I am getting at is that we should be be striving to have the Word of the Lord on our tongue at all times but not to overspiritualize it.. We should be striving to have the Spirit of the Lord speak through us, without getting caught in the perfection trap.”

    What came to me through this is something my husband said. He said I don’t know why every sentence has to have a scripture in it…… I said to him, well we are taught to speak the Word. Learn the scriptures. As I read this I think…. how many people do we “turn off” to God by “over spiritualizing” things.. Seems weird to say… How could too much Spiritual be bad?!?! I think to a non believer or one on the fence or just returning, we need to soften our approach…

    We talked about tongues on Sunday made me think of praying with Pastor [named removed by blogger] with my husband on the day we prayed on marriages and they spoke of tongues. I love [this pastor] to death, but I felt Josh tense, I felt myself in turn tense…. Since I know my husband well; I know that this was too much too quick for him, so later I had to talk him back down…

    Faith is hard Pastor!! Every person is different!!! As I grow in my faith and in the Lord I feel the scriptures are easier to “hear” (without getting nervous) and putting my hands up as I worship is easier, and hearing people talk in tongues is less “Weird”
    If we have these scriptures on our hearts, and speak through them without always quoting them we can do great things as well.

    Thanks for the word 🙂

Leave a Reply

