It is up to me

Luke 1:16-17 16 Many of the people of Israel will he bring back to the Lord their God. 17 And he will go on before the Lord, in the spirit and power of Elijah, to turn the hearts of the fathers to their children and the disobedient to the wisdom of the righteous—to make ready a people prepared for the Lord.

What a life calling John the Baptist had!  Well, his name was actually just John… he wasn’t born a Baptist.  He would walk straight into his calling, however, without reservation.  He was called to a world that was running in its own direction.  He was called to a people who had a view of God that was messed up.  He was called to fathers who had lost hope in their children and children who had lost hope in their fathers.  His job: to get people ready to accept Jesus.  He was even equipped for it by the power of the Holy Spirit at conception.  This was his destiny and he fully embraced it.

As a follower of Christ, it is my destiny also.  I am called to make ready a people prepared for the Lord.  I must work to change their minds about who they think God is.  It is my job to demonstrate that God is love and not just judgment.  It is up to me to turn the hearts of fathers to their children.  It is up to me to be different than the world expects.  It is up to me to be more like Christ.  Yes, it is up to me.

It is up to you, too. 

2 thoughts on “It is up to me

  1. Hi Brad –
    The word ‘ownership’ popped into my head as I read your blog. Something to think about. We need to take ownership of our destiny, not just flail around all are lives not fulfilling it. Example – We need to take ownership of being responsible to teach our children the things necessary for them to live in the fullness of Christ as they grow up.
    We need to take ownership of our weak areas that need to be made stronger – we shouldn’t depend on others to feed us, but take responsibility ourselves (the Word). The list could go on and on.

Leave a Reply

