Good fruit, bad fruit

Luke 6:43-45  43 “No good tree bears bad fruit, nor does a bad tree bear good fruit. 44 Each tree is recognized by its own fruit. People do not pick figs from thornbushes, or grapes from briers. 45 The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks.

Holy smokes!  Luke is applying it’s foot with force to my hindquarters.  I can’t seem to get past Luke 6 today.  I had like 5 things to write about Luke 5 and there are probably 6 I want to write about Luke 6.  In this chapter, Jesus talks about loving my enemies, calling Him Lord and not meaning it, and judging others.  How do you just pick one thing that stood out?  I think if I ever decide to preach through the book of Luke, it would probably take at least a year.

So to verse 43 – no good tree grows bad fruit and no bad tree grows good fruit.  It’s an interesting picture, really.  Jesus was taking a picture out of every day life to make His point.  A tree isn’t just about fruit.  The internal health of the tree is critical.  It needs a good root system.  It needs water, food, and sun.  If  it is dead inside, it will not produce good fruit.  But you can’t see the inside; so fruit becomes an indicator of the actual health of the tree.

A bad tree can’t fake it and neither can a good one.  It simply produces fruit based on the its health.  Such is the case for the believer, Jesus says.  It is the internal state that affects the external production.  What’s inside comes out.  So what’s coming out of my life?  If I am an angry person, where inside is that coming from?  If I talk harshly to others rather than building them up, what does my heart look like?  We get so hung up on fruit, but Jesus pointed us to the health of the tree.  If you’ve got some rotten fruit coming out of your life, you can’t just fix the fruit.  You need to get the tree healthy.

2 thoughts on “Good fruit, bad fruit

  1. we cant hide our inside thoughts, emotions, and morals. We may at times be able to conceal them from the world, but God can see it all and the fruit you produce is proof of that! I pray that God helps me to make those roots that I am trying to make so my soil can be rich, fertilize me with His Word!! Water me with His Spirit and Love, Guard me from the natural disasters, Give me patience to produce wonderful fruits of His labor in me! 😀

Leave a Reply

