Knock. Knock.

Luke 11:9-10  “So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.”  

Knock, knock jokes are pretty lame if you ask me.  Although when I was a kid I thought they were amazing.  Remember that annoying kid who would never stop doing the whole knock, knock thing?  At some point, I would stop asking who was there because I didn’t want to hear another lame joke.  But I have to give him credit for knocking.  At least he was persistent.

Jesus told us to be persistent, too.  He even told us to knock.  Because he isn’t going to open the door if you won’t put forth the effort to knock.  That’s how many people treat God, isn’t it?  They just hang out on His front porch expecting Him to do something.  They look in the windows, take a nap on the porch swing, and hope He will show up at some point.  But He wants us to knock.

Jesus said that if we would just ask, it would be given.  If we would just seek, we would find.  If we would just knock, He would open the door.  But we don’t.  We hope God will show up and fix our lives.  We expect Him to speak to us even when we don’t take the time to listen.  Then we get frustrated when he doesn’t.  He would say to us, “Pursue me.  Look for me.  Wait on me. Ask me.”  Will you?  Get specific with God about your need.  Tell Him what it is you need.  Pound on His door and you will find that He will answers.  

One thought on “Knock. Knock.

  1. I am right there on that porch sipping some tea and reading my book…. doing my bible study, but not knocking….. not speaking, I am looking though! What am I scared of?! Do I think when I knock He wont answer…. or open the door and see it’s me and slam it shut…. why am I afraid of praying out loud?? Do I think my family the body of Christ my church will judge me or think I sound dumb!?!? All of these sound ridiculous, but the devil speaks these thoughts in my mind daily I pray they go away as he speaks them but some still sneak through.

Leave a Reply

