God is in charge

1 Kings 13:4-5 When King Jeroboam heard what the man of God cried out against the altar at Bethel, he stretched out his hand from the altar and said, “Seize him!” But the hand he stretched out toward the man shriveled up, so that he could not pull it back. Also, the altar was split apart and its ashes poured out according to the sign given by the man of God by the word of the LORD. 

I am so curious what this looked like!  He stretches out his hand with great authority and it shrivels up.  That must have been a sight.  And I wonder what the look on his face was.  It must have been priceless to see him totally freak out.  A couple weeks ago I was working on my computer when it froze up, followed by the awesome blue screen of death.  My face must have been something to see.  I was in shock, horror, disbelief, and freaked out that I may have just lost everything.  (Fortunately, I didn’t)  But my little meltdown doesn’t even come close to the shock, horror, and disbelief King Jeroboam must have felt when he saw his hand.

Here’s the thing: his hand was his power.  When he stretched it out and commanded someone to be arrested, it happened.  But the the Lord took away his power.  He removed his authority.  Which tells me that regardless of how important the king thought he was, no matter how powerful he was in his own eyes… God was really the one in charge.  It’s so true, isn’t it?  God is in charge.

However, sometimes we think that we are.  We stretch out our wimpy arms and make bold powerless declarations.  But God is the only one with absolute power.  So it would be in our best interest to line our lives up with His commands, His heart, and His authority.  If we do so, we will never be embarrassed by a weak display of perceived power.  Instead, every move we make under His authority will be powerful and effective.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Carolyn Moore on February 3, 2012 at 9:47 am

    I know this is full of great spiriual content but I got stuck on the computer part. I rest my case :0)

    Reply

  2. This is so true. A lot of people myself included think we can control things and give God “power” over some stuff, but He has the ultimate power over everything and the more we fight Him or hold back the harder it will be to receive that JOY He so wants us to have.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 798 other followers

