The Messenger

1 Kings 14:7-9  7 Go, tell Jeroboam that this is what the LORD, the God of Israel, says: ‘I raised you up from among the people and made you a leader over my people Israel. 8 I tore the kingdom away from the house of David and gave it to you, but you have not been like my servant David, who kept my commands and followed me with all his heart, doing only what was right in my eyes. 9 You have done more evil than all who lived before you. You have made for yourself other gods, idols made of metal; you have provoked me to anger and thrust me behind your back.

Uh oh… someone’s in trouble.  Remember when you were a kid and your brother got into big trouble and you were the messenger?  Yikes!  Sometimes it was exciting to tell them they were in trouble, because they had just clocked you in the face with a plastic toy.  Other times, you were afraid for them as the wrath of mom and dad was about to come.  Imagine being Jeroboam’s wife in this situation; she had to be the messenger.  “Hey Bo, I’ve got some bad news for you.”

And what a message it was! “I raised you up,” God told him.  “I called you out among the people, chose you, and made you king.  I told you to follow all my commands and I would be with you.  I wanted to be your God, your one and only.  I was ready to bless you and your descendants.  But you couldn’t manage to set me alone in your heart.  You didn’t follow my commands, but followed the evil in your heart.  You turned your back on me and now I am angry.  You have experienced my blessing, but now you will experience my wrath.”

I don’t know about you, but I would be freaking out right about now.  Nobody wants to get news like that.  It’s news that cuts to the heart and makes you want to throw up.  It was too late for Jereboam to do anything about it, too.  He had already messed up so bad that God had made up His mind.  But today God has mind up His mind about something else.  He has made up his mind to forgive you and accept you regardless of how bad you’ve blown it.  He sent His Son to usher in forgiveness, grace, and reconciliation.  And each day you get to choose to serve Him.  He wants to be loved with all your heart; He wants to be your one and only.

He gave us the Holy Spirit to not only comfort us, but to correct us.  He warns us of our sin and gives us the power to cut off our allegiance to other gods.  He helps us in our weakness and gives us strength to remove our idols.  That’s our God!  So if the Holy Spirit is bringing you some bad news about the allegiance of your heart, do something about it today.  Fix your eyes only on Jesus, the author and perfecter of your faith.  It’s not too late.

One thought on “The Messenger

Leave a Reply

