Running on Empty

1 Kings 17:13-16  13 Then Elijah said to her, “Don’t be afraid; go and do as you have said. But first make me a small loaf from it and bring it out to me. Afterward, you may make some for yourself and your son, 14 for this is what the LORD God of Israel says, ‘The flour jar will not become empty and the oil jug will not run dry until the day the LORD sends rain on the surface of the land.” 15 So she proceeded to do according to the word of Elijah. Then the woman, Elijah, and her household ate for many days. 16 The flour jar did not become empty, and the oil jug did not run dry, according to the word of the LORD He had spoken through Elijah. 

Do you ever feel like you are running on empty?  When you do, your energy is depleted, you can’t think straight, and you just want to take a good long nap.  Worry sets in, too.  The other day I got in the car to drive to my office and the fuel light was on.  Instantly there was this little anxiety that hit, “I wonder if I will run out of gas on my way?”  Running on empty is no fun.  No one likes to have the fuel light on, walk around with sleep deprivation, or open empty cupboards.  But the lady in our scripture today had some seriously empty cupboards.  She was running on empty.

For many of us, we run on empty spiritually too.  We go about our days, our weeks, and our lives trying to get by.  We feel like we’ve lost our passion for the Lord and that we have nothing to give.  We haven’t taken the time to get filled up by Him and so we live a depleted, powerless life.  That’s when anxiety, worry, and fear set in.  We aren’t connected to our Savior and everything seems insurmountable.  The only solution is to lean into His arms and His ways.

Verse 15 says that “she proceeded to do according to the word of Elijah.”  She had so little and yet she followed the instructions from the Lord.  She used the very little she had to walk according to his commands.  And do you know what happened?  He replenished her.  She gave all she had and He provided more.  You see, if we would just walk according to the word of the Lord in our lives we, too, would find that our jars will never be empty or dry.  As we lean into His Word, He will refill us, sustain us, and overflow us.  Make the choice today to walk according to His Word and you won’t have to run on empty any more.

2 thoughts on “Running on Empty

  1. This is exactly how I feel today so this one hit home. As a mom, wife, caregiver of children; I feel my day never ends. I am giving and giving and even though I get so much out of what I do and my family some days I just feel tired.. worn out.. in need of some grown up time. I feel this way spiritually too, especially if its my week to volunteer. While I very much enjoy it I miss that adult worship time. The time where I can relax my shoulders and just BE. Be in the Word, be surrounded by His children. I find time to be in the word at home, but I NEED that gathering of my church 🙂 Seems as though the laundry never stops, the dishes, always pile up, the kids always need something, and the cars usually on E, but we can always lean on God with the little day to day stresses.

  2. I think my checkbook is doing an incredible imitation of the oil jar and flour. Working on the taxes, I see we paid more JUST for health insurance, medications and co-pays than we brought in. Not to mention, heat, groceries, gas and taxes every which way.

    But still, I am not cold, I am not hungry and I am not wet.
    Warm + Dry + Full = happy.

    What happened here?
    There always seems to be almost enough for each thing.

    I think He is making a point.
    “G’head and do what I told you to do. I’ll take care of the rest.”

Leave a Reply

