God in my bones

2 Kings 13:20-21  20 Elisha died and was buried. Now Moabite raiders used to enter the country every spring. 21 Once while some Israelites were burying a man, suddenly they saw a band of raiders; so they threw the man’s body into Elisha’s tomb. When the body touched Elisha’s bones, the man came to life and stood up on his feet. 

I have God in my life.  I asked Jesus into my heart.  I invited the Holy Spirit to come dwell in me.  But I also have flesh.  Oh, that stinkin’ flesh!  Doesn’t it make you crazy when your carnality gets the best of you?  Don’t you wish you could just be FULLY anointed all the time?  Apparently, Elisha knew what that was like.

You see, Elisha had a serious dose of God in him.  God dwelt on his lips, on his hands, and in his spirit.  And God dwelt in his bones.  You know that expression: chilled to the bone?  Or maybe bad to the bone?  Essentially it means “all the way through,” or “to the core.”  Elisha was anointed to the core, down to his bones.  It’s crazy really, that – even after he was dead – his bones raised a man to life.

I want God to dwell in my bones, too.  I want to experience His love, His power, His grace, His joy… all the way in my innermost being.  I don’t want to have a surface walk with God, I want a deep one.  I don’t want a little of His presence in my life, I want it to my core.  It starts by saying, “God, fill and control me today.”  I want more of You in my life, more of You in my thoughts, and more of You in my bones.

Leave a Reply

