I’ve had enough

2 Kings 24:20  Because of the LORD’s anger, it came to the point in Jerusalem and Judah that He finally banished them from His presence. Then, Zedekiah rebelled against the king of Babylon. 

Sometimes you’ve just had enough.  You have tried to be patient, you waited in line, you held out for the best.  But it just isn’t working; it’s time to be done.  Ever have days like those?  I know that I do.  It’s frustrating, isn’t it?  I find that it doesn’t always take a whole lot to get me to the point of frustration, either.  I give my best effort and if it doesn’t work, I am irritated.  I can’t even imagine what God must have gone through with these kings in the Old Testament.

As I have read through 1 and 2 Kings, I have been amazed at God’s pursuit of His people.  King after king after king did evil in the Lord’s sight.  Then there would be some hope, as someone would follow the Lord.  But that guy’s son would mess it all up again.  Generation after generation failed to serve the Lord.  And for some reason, God kept hanging in there.  He kept pursuing them; He kept giving them more opportunities to turn it around.  That’s why today’s passage doesn’t bother me much.  Sure, the Israelites were banished from the Lord’s presence, but He had the right to do it long before He did. 

That’s what is so remarkable about God.  He is a pursuer of us.  Even while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.  His love is so deep for humanity that He does all He can to make a way.  For the nation of Israel, it meant giving them a hundred more chances than they deserved.  For you and I, it was sending His Son to die for us.  That sacrifice speaks of his love for me.  It shows me that even though I might fail Him, He will not give up on me.  You hear that?  He will not give up on us.  Let that refuel your drive to follow Him today!

Leave a Reply

