You don’t sow weeds

Hosea 10:12 Sow righteousness for yourselves and reap faithful love; break up your unplowed ground. It is time to seek the LORD until He comes and sends righteousness on you like the rain.

I’m not a very good gardener.  I never know what to do with a plant.  I can, however, grow weeds pretty well.  Regardless of the amount of effort I put into it, they just grow.  I water them, they grow.  I abandon them, they grow.  I pull them, they still grow.  But the tomato plants won’t.  Neither will the corn or the beans.  Maybe it’s because I don’t pay enough attention to the good plants.  Maybe I don’t spend time nurturing them so they can grow and produce.  If I sow corn seeds, I should reap corn, right?

In Hosea 10, the Lord tells Israel to focus on sowing righteousness.  You see, if you want to reap something good, it requires some sowing.  If you just sit by and expect something to happen on it’s own; you’ll get weeds.  And it is those weeds that choke out the good stuff.  They grow like crazy and overtake the things you want to reap in your life.  They eat up all the good nutrients in the soil so nothing else can grow.  So they need to be removed.  They need to be pulled so good things can grow.

Righteousness requires our attention, friends.  It requires that we strive for all that is good – that we desire not just to be saved, but sanctified.  If we don’t, we won’t reap the good God has for us.  Instead, we will reap weeds that overtake the gardens of our life.  

3 thoughts on “You don’t sow weeds

Leave a Reply

