3 year old superhero

Obadiah 1:3 The pride of your heart has deceived you, you who live in the clefts of the rocks and make your home on the heights, you who say to yourself, ‘Who can bring me down to the ground?’

I remember being a kid and pretending to be a superhero.  I would put on a cape and make bold claims about my power.   I would revel in my awesomeness and leap over toy trucks with a single bound.  Every once in while I would temporarily fly through the air from one couch to the other (until mom told me not to jump on the furniture).  I was invincible… until I crashed into the wall or slipped and fell.  Apparently physics didn’t agree that I was a superhero.  Yes, gravity pulled me to the ground mid-flight.  My knuckles turned red and walls didn’t budge when I attempted to break through them.  And apparently my dog could also run faster than the speed of sound, because even with my supersonic speed, she was still faster.

The problem was reality.  I thought I was much greater than I really was.  I wasn’t a superhero; I was a kid with an active imagination.  Such is the reality of puffed up pride.  Pride makes a person feel more important than they really are.  Pride causes arrogance and an attitude of superiority.  Pride can even make you think like a kid superhero.  You feel invincible, untouchable.  Yet your fall is just around the corner.  Reality will catch up with you sooner or later.  Think of these athletes who are caught doing steroids.  They are winning games, races, you name it.  Collecting their trophies and prize money, they puff themselves up and brag about being the best.  And then the fall hits hard.

Remember when Jesus said, “blessed are the poor in spirit?”  Remember that?  He was on to something there.  He instructed us to keep an honest view of reality.  That honest view says that without God in my life, I am nothing.  Without his protection, provision, talents,and gifts, I’ve got nothing at all.  He is my source; He is my life.  I take pride in that alone. We’ve got to start looking at our lives through that lens, because the pride of your heart will deceive you.  Don’t be a 3 year old superhero.  Instead be honest about your limitations and your weakness and stand in His power and strength.

Leave a Reply

