What have you vowed?

Jonah 2:8-9 “Those who cling to worthless idols forfeit the grace that could be theirs. But I, with a song of thanksgiving, will sacrifice to you. What I have vowed I will make good. Salvation comes from the LORD.”

We can all appreciate someone who does what they say they are going to do.  Empty promises are frustrating.  “I forgot” is too.  But people let us down, don’t they?  What’s wrong with those people?  Why can’t they keep their word?  I mean, it’s not all that hard to be somewhere you said you would be.  It can’t be that difficult to finish the task you said would get done. It’s easy to say these things about others, isn’t it?

I certainly don’t like to say these things about myself.  But as Jonah was hanging out inside of a giant fish, he offered this prayer to the Lord: “What I have vowed I will make good.”  For Jonah that meant going to Nineveh and preaching.  It meant obeying God rather than running from him.  Good for Jonah.  He was finally ready to face his fears, his laziness, his frustrations, and do what God had asked of him.

“What I have vowed I will make good.”  What have I vowed to the Lord?  I said I would make Him Lord of my life.  I promised a whole lot of times that I would stop sinning.  I have committed to spending more time with Him – in the Word and in prayer.  I told Him I would strive to be a better husband and father.  I vowed that He would be the center of my life.  Am I making good on my vows?  Do my heart, will, mind, and emotions follow through with what my mouth said?  Maybe there are some things I still need to make good on.  Thanks, Jonah, for that word today.  Apparently I needed the reminder.

Leave a comment