Idols are dumb

Habakkuk 2:19 Woe to him who says to wood, ‘Come to life!’ Or to lifeless stone, ‘Wake up!’ Can it give guidance? It is covered with gold and silver; there is no breath in it.

idolsI may have knocked on wood, but I’ve never talked to it.  I’m not crazy enough to talk to a rock and think it will give me some guidance.  I’m not foolish enough to tell a piece of wood to come to life.  Even if a piece of wood did come to life, I don’t think that would cause me to start getting my life direction from it.  Idolatry is plain dumb.  I mean, who would seriously turn to a piece of wood or stone for direction?  Really. I mean, who would turn to the TV, a horoscope, a boyfriend, a good luck charm, or a beer for guidance.  Oh… wait.

You know, that’s what idolatry is at it’s purest form – looking to someone other than God to save me or complete me.  It is putting my confidence and faith in something other than God and making that thing or person my functional savior.  As Christians we know that we have one Savior; His name is Jesus.  Yet we gather up all kinds of functional saviors.  We play the lotto in hopes that it will be our path to provision and security.  We go to the bottle to drown out all our stress and fears and failures.  Our teenagers looks to a boyfriend to make them feel special and valued.  Dr. Phil and Oprah are our in home therapists while that ancient book called the Bible (you know, the one with all the answers) sits on the coffee table collecting dust.

We laugh at the Israelites for having a couple of lifeless functional saviors, yet we have so many more.  We think they are stupid for trying to store up manna and yet we do the same thing with powerball tickets.  Listen, an idol is an idol is an idol.  There’s no way around it.  It plagued Israel for many years and it’s plaguing our culture even more.  The only way out is to make your real savior your functional one also.  It’s lining up your actions and your responses to what you believe.  Do you say that Jesus is your Savior?  Then act like it.  Go to him with your needs.  Turn to Him in times of trouble.  Seek His Word for direction.

My prayer: “Jesus you are my savior.  Come strip away the things that I turn to, that I think will save me or complete me.  I serve you alone today, Lord.  I worship you and none other.  I pray that in my life you would not only be my first, but my only.  I love you my Savior and my King!  Help me to rest in all that you have and all that you are.  Amen.”

Leave a Reply

