How to get refreshed

Acts 3:19 Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord

refreshedThere’s nothing like a swimming pool on a hot summer day.  It’s so refreshing!  We all love times of refreshing don’t we?  It might be a getaway with a loved one or some time at the spa.  It’s so essential to unwind, relax, and be refreshed.  That’s why we look to so many places to refresh us.  We are looking for the secret to relaxation, the key to refreshing.  I think I just found it.

Repent.  Wait, what?  Say that again.  Yes, I said “repent.”  In Acts 3:19, Peter lists refreshing as a result of repentance.  Now when I think about repentance, I assume that the result will be the first thing Peter said – that my sins will be wiped out.  That’s good enough news by itself.  I mean, who doesn’t want their sins wiped out?  I don’t talk to many people who say, “I really like the gross feeling of sin in my life. I think I’ll just hang on to it.”  No, people don’t usually say that.  But we don’t repent either.   We try to suppress the sin, but we don’t confess it.  We try to exercise our willpower over it rather that hold on to His power to overcome it.  So I need to repent if I want my sins wiped out.  I have got to repent if I want to lose the gross feeling.  I must repent if I want the enemy to lose his power in my life.

Oh yes, we were talking about refreshing.  Peter said that if you repent, times of refreshing will come to you from the Lord.  Maybe that’s because repentance brings us into right standing with Him.  And right standing allows us into His glorious presence. Maybe it’s because God honors the humble and contrite heart and brings His healing presence to our every need.  Or possibly it’s because God loves His children.  Whatever the case, repentance brings refreshing.  It brings peace and joy, turns mourning into dancing, and welcomes the Father’s embrace.  Yeah, I guess that sounds pretty refreshing.  We should all try it today.  Ask God what you have in your life that you need to turn from.  Then repent… and enjoy the refreshing that only He can bring.

Leave a Reply

