I’ve got a terrible idea! Who wants to join me?

Acts 5:38-39 “Therefore, in the present case I advise you: Leave these men alone! Let them go! For if their purpose or activity is of human origin, it will fail.  But if it is from God, you will not be able to stop these men; you will only find yourselves fighting against God.”

thumb downI’ve got a great idea!  I swear it will work!  How many times have you heard that one?  I know I have heard it plenty of times.  We all know people with ideas.  Some of them are even good ideas.  But I want ideas that work; I want ones that will last.  Because putting an idea into action is a lot of work and watching it fail is no fun.  Yes, I want to do things that will last.  So how I do I go about that?

Well, In Acts 5, there’s this guy named Gamaliel.  His name reminds me of a classic Queen song… mamma mia, gamaliel, figaro. Ok, maybe that’s not how it goes.  What was a I saying?  Oh yes, Gamaliel.  He had some really good words of wisdom for the religious leaders of the day.  When trying to figure out what to do with Peter and John, he told the leaders that if this was just another hair-brained uprising, it would fail.  But if it was ordained by God, there’s no bother trying to shut it down anyway.

All of which leads me to this conclusion:  I don’t want to participate in man-made hair brained stuff.  I want to participate in God ordained stuff.  We so often worry about whether or not something will succeed.  We wonder if we have what it takes to pull it off.  Maybe we should ask ourselves if what we are doing is from God.  I heard a pastor (Jim Putnam) say recently: “Jesus never promised that the gates of hell wouldn’t overcome your church; He said that the gates of hell wouldn’t overcome HIS church.”   Case in point, what’s His will last but what’s mine probably doesn’t stand a chance.

So today I think I will get myself ready to trash my grand plans and ask Him what His are.  I will throw out my brilliant strategies and adopt His.  Somehow I think it’s just gonna work out better that way!

2 thoughts on “I’ve got a terrible idea! Who wants to join me?

Leave a Reply

